Science Park High School Students featured authors in “The Helpers”


Newark, NJ - Science Park High School English Teacher Shawn Adler has been making waves with his leadership and initiative in the Science Park community. Under his guidance, scholars have come together to share their stories of vulnerability and personal growth and have become published authors.

These remarkable students were selected to be a part of Ramapo College's upcoming book collection, "The Helpers." This collection features first-hand narratives of change, in which someone came into the authors' lives and helped them achieve their potential. 100% of the profits from the book sales will be donated to The Ramapo College We Care program, which is dedicated to providing resources for students who are experiencing food, financial, or other basic needs insecurities. 

The Science Park High School literacy team has been working diligently to help these students tell their stories with clarity and emotional resonance. Principal Gearhart and the rest of the Science Park staff have been instrumental in supporting this project, and the Newark Board of Education is thrilled to commend their efforts.

In the words of Shawn Adler, "We wanted to give our students a platform to share their experiences and empower others who may be going through similar struggles. It's incredible to see these students turn their hardships into something beautiful and inspiring."

Principal Gearhart added, "The Science Park community is incredibly proud of these students and the literacy team's hard work in bringing their stories to life. We hope these stories will serve as a source of inspiration and hope for others."

Superintendent Roger León expressed his admiration for the project, stating that it is a shining example of the power of education and community collaboration.

"The Helpers" has been released and is a powerful testament to the resilience and determination of the Science Park High School and Newark community.  Published authors include Breeze Kaizen, Ashley Lourenco, Ja'sya Hines, Aaliyah Gray, Jhoselin Guaman, Nicholas Veneziano, Talia Caguana, Alejandro Navarrete, Farisa Manifold, Abigail Alvear, Ryan Doirin, Basith Ajayi, Monica Quezada, Jayden Turcios, Oluwabukunmi Oyedeji, and Justin Bustamante.