Career Technical Student Organization (CTSO) on the RISE!

West Side High School 2022-2023, DECA Chapter

ctso-west-side 4

The Newark Board of Education is proud to announce during the 2022-2023 school year, 41 students from West Side High School enrolled in Entrepreneurial Studies, and Supply Chain Management pathways became members of Distributive Education Clubs of America (DECA), and 13 voluntarily competed in the NJDECA Central East District Conference. DECA prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs in marketing, finance, hospitality, and management in high schools and colleges around the globe.

The competition included a 100-question online exam in November 2022, followed by an in-person role-play held on January 5, 2023, at Kean University. 13 students were given two written scenarios based on their business event selection; students were required to read and write a solution to five performance indicators within 10 minutes. Once complete, they were given an additional 10 minutes to verbally present their solution to a judge within the professional industry.


The process is rigorous, intimidating, and stressful for anyone, especially first-time competitors. The students spent weeks preparing for the competition with the support of DECA Advisors Mrs. Richardson and Mr. Mason, practicing role-play scenarios, oral presentations, and public speaking techniques to build self-confidence.

West Side students arrived on campus confident in their official DECA business attire, ready to proudly represent themselves, West Side High School, and the City of Newark. In the end, Jamari Romain and chapter officer Elijah Brodie scored in the top 10 of their event. They will move on to the NJDECA State Conference Competition to be held in Atlantic City, NJ, on February 29, 2023.

Congratulations to our other competitors who stepped out of their comfort zone, faced their fears, and shined bright this year; Mareem Akram, Xitlali Alvarez-Fierro, Minol Castro, Alyssa Lopez, Lucky Osinuga, Shamar Richards, Nervijaeh Valdes, Alaya Harden, Roshaughn Barker, and chapter officers Saniya Wright and Onella Boyce.