Meetings

This schedule of meetings is subject to change, but notification will be provided to the public, in accordance with statute.  If Newark Public Schools are closed or dismissed early (for example, due to inclement weather), any Board meeting scheduled on that same date will be cancelled. If Newark Public Schools are open or have a delayed opening, any Board meeting scheduled on that same date will remain scheduled. Formal action may be taken at these meetings.

For Regular Board Meetings, all speakers must sign-up in advance of the next Regular Meeting date by completing the Online Speaking Request Form. The sign-up period for the next available Regular Board Meeting will close by 4:00 p.m. five (5) calendar days prior to the day of the next Regular Board Meeting.

For all other public Board Meetings—including Business Board Meetings, Board Retreats, and Special Board Meetings—a maximum of ten (10) speakers may sign-up at the start of the meeting on a first-come, first-serve basis.

2017-2018 NPS Board of Education Meetings

DateTimeType of MeetingLocation
Saturday, July 8, 20178:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.RetreatPanasonic Corporation
Second Floor Training Room
2 Riverfront Plaza
Newark, NJ 07102
Thursday, July 20, 20176:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.RetreatNewark Public Schools
10th Floor Conference Room, 1010
2 Cedar Street
Newark, NJ 07102
Tuesday, August 1, 20175:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.SpecialNewark Public Schools
10th Floor Conference Room, 1010
2 Cedar Street
Newark, NJ 07102
Tuesday, August 15, 20175:30 p.m.BusinessNewark Public Schools
10th Floor Conference Room, 1010
2 Cedar Street
Newark, NJ 07102
Tuesday, August 22, 20176:00 p.m.RegularElliott Street School
721 Summer Avenue
Tuesday, September 19, 20175:30 p.m.BusinessNewark Public Schools
10th Floor Conference Room, 1010
2 Cedar Street
Newark, NJ 07102
Saturday, September 23, 20178:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.RetreatPanasonic Corporation
Second Floor Training Room
2 Riverfront Plaza
Newark, NJ 07102
Tuesday, September 26, 20176:00 p.m.RegularUniversity High School
55 Clinton Place
Tuesday, October 10, 20175:30 p.m.BusinessNewark Public Schools
10th Floor Conference Room, 1010
2 Cedar Street
Newark, NJ 07102
Tuesday, October 17, 20176:00 p.m.RegularArts High School
550 Dr. Martin Luther King Blvd.
Tuesday, November 21, 20175:30 p.m.BusinessNewark Public Schools
10th Floor Conference Room, 1010
2 Cedar Street
Newark, NJ 07102
Thursday, November 30, 20176:00 p.m.RegularFirst Avenue School
214 First Avenue
Saturday, December 9, 20178:30 am - 3:30 pmRetreatPanasonic Corporation
Second Floor Training Room
2 Riverfront Plaza
Newark, NJ 07102
Tuesday, December 12, 20175:30 p.m.BusinessNewark Public Schools
10th Floor Conference Room, 1010
2 Cedar Street
Newark, NJ 07102
Tuesday, December 19, 20176:00 p.m.RegularMount Vernon Elementary
142 Mount Vernon Place
Thursday, December 21, 20176:00 p.m.Special MeetingNewark Public Schools
10th Floor Conference Room, 1010
2 Cedar Street
Newark, NJ 07102
Wednesday, December 27, 20175:30 p.m.RetreatNewark Public Schools
10th Floor Conference Room, 1010
2 Cedar Street
Newark, NJ 07102
Tuesday, January 16, 20185:30 p.m.Business765 Broad Street
Lower Level Conference Room
Tuesday, January 23, 20186:00 p.m.RegularEast Side High School
238 Van Buren Street
Tuesday, February 20, 20185:30 p.m.Business765 Broad Street
Lower Level Conference Room
Tuesday, February 27, 20186:00 p.m.RegularWest Side Campus, 403 South Orange Avenue
Tuesday, March 13, 20185:30 p.m.Business765 Broad Street
Lower Level Conference Room
Saturday, March 17, 20188:30 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.RetreatScience Park High School
260 Norfolk Street
Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - Canceled

Tuesday, March 27, 2018 - Rescheduled
6:00 p.m.RegularBarringer High School Campus
90 Parker Street
Monday, April 16, 20185:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.Special Meeting765 Broad Street
Lower Level Conference Room
Tuesday, April 24, 20186:00 p.m.RegularBelmont Runyon Elementary School
1 Belmont Runyon Way
Saturday, April 28, 20188:30 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.Retreat765 Broad Street
Lower Level Conference Room
Thursday, May 10, 20188:30 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.Budget HearingCentral High School
246 18th Avenue
Newark, NJ 07108
Tuesday, May 15, 20185:30 p.m.Business765 Broad Street
Lower Level Conference Room
Tuesday, May 22, 20186:00 p.m.RegularSpeedway Academies
701 South Orange Avenue
Tuesday, June 5, 20185:30 p.m.Business765 Broad Street
Lower Level Conference Room
Saturday, June 9, 20185:30 p.m.Retreat765 Broad Street
Lower Level Conference Room
Tuesday, June 12, 20186:00 p.m.RegularSouth Street School
44 Hermon Street